PumpEase Review and Giveaway

After E was born, I had to pump using a hospital grade pump in addition to nursing him so we could get his weight up (that’s the really short version of things – here’s the long version ). I had no idea that hands free bras even existed. For the few weeks after his birth, I would hold the flanges of the breast pump to me for 20-30 minutes at a time. It wasn’t very effective – I would lose suction, my hands would hurt, and I would even dribble milk. D rigged a hands free bra for me using an old sports bra, but it wasn’t comfortable.

A friend told me about getting a PumpEase hands free pumping bra. I bought one immediately (in Snow Leopard, naturally) and couldn’t wait for it to arrive. I got it just in time to use for a few weeks before going back to work, where I would be pumping at least 3 times a day. Disrobing from the waist up just wasn’t an option.

I couldn’t get over just how much easier pumping got once I started using the hands free bra. I was able to do things while I pumped. I’m able to read a book, eat a snack, type on a computer/laptop/phone, or scratch my nose. In fact, what you’re reading right now was written while I was pumping! Having both hands free lets me to relax, which helps with my let down. It also allows me to compress while I pump. I can ensure that my breasts empty fully and hopefully avoid plugged ducts and mastitis.

My favorite thing about PumpEase is how simple it is to put on. Just wrap it around you, over your nursing bra.

Click for larger image

Attach the hooks in front.

Click for larger image

There are three sets of hooks that allow for fluctuation in breast size.

Click for larger image

The six hook and loop closures keep your pump flanges stay in place.

Click for larger image

The flanges are slipped through slits on the front. The fabric is strong enough to support bottles filled with 5 ounces of milk.

Click for larger image

Just put it on and pump!

Click for larger image

PumpEase is also very durable. I have been using mine every day for about a year and it is in like new condition. It’s made out of a polyester/spandex blend, but still feels soft on skin. I have spilled some milk on it and it dried quickly. You know how you get a pair of white socks and they look dingy by the second or third wash? That hasn’t happened with my PumpEase. It barely looks used and I don’t treat it very gently. The stretch is just as good as the day I got it. I would, however, recommend washing it by itself since the hooks can (and do) get caught on things like sweaters. Every time I pull it out of the wash, it gets stuck to something.

Pros: PumpEase has allowed me to pump efficiently at work, at home, while traveling, even while getting my hair done. I highly recommend it for a mom who plans on pumping frequently. I can’t imagine nursing and pumping for as long as I have without one. It is worth every penny.

Cons: One tiny con, which is more me than the PumpEase: do not wash with sweaters or anything that the hooks can get caught on.

PumpEase is available in a variety of patterns and even in an Organic option. Prices range from $38-$42. Visit PumpEase to purchase.

Now comes the fun part. Wendy at Snugabell has graciously provided a PumpEase to one lucky Lactivist in Louboutins reader! The winner gets to choose from PumpEase Classic or PumpEase Organic. This giveaway is open to residents worldwide! Thank you Wendy!

The giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on Tuesday, February 21, 2012. Winner will be announced here and chosen through the Rafflecopter tool below.

There are up 5 ways to enter! The only mandatory entry is to leave a comment on this blog post and be sure to use the Rafflecopter tool below to mark it as done. Once it has been marked as done in Rafflecopter, you can unlock up to 4 additional optional entries. Mandatory entry must be completed in order to be eligible for the drawing.

GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED
Congratulations, Kami A!

/*{literal}{/literal}*/a Rafflecopter giveawayYou need javascript enabled to see this giveaway.

Full disclosure: I was not provided with a PumpEase to review. The review is on my own PumpEase Classic in Snow Leopard, which was purchased in 2010.

58 thoughts on “PumpEase Review and Giveaway

  1. I would love to have one of these babies, I recently went to two different locations to purchase one and sadly they were not available šŸ˜¦ I have made my own sad attempt with an old bra but I know this would be way better so I'm crossing my fingers!
    My choice would be snow leopard!

    Like

Leave a Reply

