The Perks of Being a Working Mom

I’ve been having a rough few weeks at work, to the point where I tell D I want to quit and stay home with E all day. Of course, this isn’t an option for us at this time. After my rants, D gives me a hug and tells me to stick with it. It would be great to be a stay at home mom, but I’m not sure I would be happy with it in the long run. Rather than dwell on the negative aspects of working outside of the home, I came up with a list of my top 6 reasons I enjoy being a working mom.


Image from GreatAuPair.com

Before you read on, please note that these are my views. I’m not putting down SAHMs in any way. Their job is just as demanding as mine is. If that still doesn’t appease you, please realize that this is a blog on the internet. You’ll read shit you don’t agree with. Please press ALT + F4 (or COMMAND + Q on a Mac) if it really bothers you that much.

    The Perks of Being a Working Mom

  1. Let’s state the obvious. We’ve gone from being DINKs to DI1Ks (deeks?). My salary allows us to live comfortably and put more money into 401k accounts, savings, and E’s college fund. While money can’t buy happiness, it sure can buy some fun stuff.
  2. Significantly less mom clique/play group drama. There will always be drama, but working means that I am not a part of most play groups. While this really sucks because E doesn’t get to socialize with his peers, I do not have to deal with a large chunk of play group or mom clique drama. I have my clique of mom friends and we’re all pretty low maintenance and low drama. I am so thankful for that!
  3. Role model for E. I like to think that I’m setting a good example for E by showing him that it is possible for a woman to work and take care of a family. My parents instilled a good work ethic in me, and I hope to do the same for him.
  4. Dad’s little buddy. When we get home from work, both D & I tend to E. He is definitely a mama’s boy, but he and Dad have their fun, too. Because E doesn’t freak out when D is taking care of him, I’m able to do things on my own. D takes care of dinner, bath time, and bed time while I am able to relax and have a good time, knowing E is in capable hands.
  5. Mom at work. I’ve found that a number of my mom skills translate well into office life. While being able to change a poopy diaper in under a minute isn’t a skill I’d put on my resume, I can easily play up my expanded communication skills. I have found multiple ways of saying the same thing and have become a lot more patient. At the end of the day, don’t some adults act like babies?
  6. Discipline. I am lazy. If it were up to me, I’d stay up until the wee hours of the morning and roll out of bed between 10 and 11. Work makes me stick to a schedule. I have to be up, showered, and out of the house by a certain time. It may not happen every day, but I know I have to do it if I want to avoid the repercussions.

Are you a working mom? What’s one of the reasons you enjoy it?

2 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Working Mom

  1. There are so many benefits to being a working mom. 1. You get to stay in touch with who you are outside of being a mom. 2. Your family has greater financial stability (you're not just relying on one person's job — important in a time of high unemployment). 3. Ensures that a woman is not economically reliant on her spouse (can lead to greater equality in a marriage).

    Still, working motherhood isn't easy, and I think our cultural issues make it harder. For example, Desi moms are expected to sacrifice it all for their kids (more so than in other culture).

    Like

  2. Yes, yes, yes! Agree with all three of the reasons you listed. My role model for a working mother was my own mom. She worked all day, tended to two young kids, and managed to cook a fresh, hot meal every night! I am amazed at how much she did and really feel inadequate when compared to her. For better or for worse, I only have a few working cube or office working mom friends in real life. Most are SAHMs and others have demanding yet flexible careers (doulas, photographers, hair stylist).

    Like

Leave a Reply

