31

Today is my thirty first birthday. Yup, the big 3-1. It’s been getting me down for the past few weeks and I couldn’t pin down the reason. I turned to Facebook for the answer. Thank you to those that commiserated with me on the sense of disappointment on birthdays after a milestone birthday.

Last year, I wrote a post about what I wanted to do in my 30th year of life. Well, I didn’t do all those things. Heck, I didn’t do most of those things. Rather than reflect on what I didn’t accomplish, I thought I did do.

Figured out what I want to do when I grow up. I want to support breastfeeding women as an IBCLC. I may have known that already, but the past year has confirmed and reconfirmed that decision. I’ve honestly lost count of the number of times I’ve thought, Yes, this is what I want to do.

Started down the path towards IBCLC. I am officially a Certified Lactation Educator & Counselor. This means I can talk about the normal course of breastfeeding and teach! It’s also provided some incredible opportunities for me. See previous point.

Gotten more involved with supporting breastfeeding in my community. Between helping co-lead For Babies’ Sake meetings and being a part of the Tarrant County Breastfeeding Coalition, I feel like I’m doing my part.

Successfully managing to work and be a mom. Even when it doesn’t feel like it, I’m pretty proud of myself for doing it. It’s not everyone’s situation or everyone’s solution, but it works for us.

Being confident in my beliefs. Whether related to parenting, politics, or everything else, I know what I believe and why I believe in it. It’s going to take a lot to shake those beliefs. I don’t apologize for them. I won’t apologize for them.

Accepting my body as is. Sure, I have days where I bitch about fitting into my jeans, but I’m really happy with the way I look. D is pretty happy with the way I look too.

Realized that some friendships have an expiration date (and that it’s okay to let go). Sometimes friends grow apart. Calls, texts, and messages aren’t returned, eventually you’re no longer friends on social networks. Sometimes I wish I could find out what I did (I have my suspicions for some), but chances are that I don’t miss them.

That’s what I accomplished in a year. It may not seem like much, but I’m pretty satisfied. Besides, I don’t want to get everything done in a year. The rest of my life would be pretty boring. Happy birthday to me.

One thought on “31

Leave a Reply

