2013 Resolutions

This week’s Breastfeeding Blog Hop topic is Breastfeeding Goals

It’s that time again, where I make resolutions and hope I am still doing them 3 months from now. I made too many last year and completed less than half.

While I don’t have any breastfeeding resolutions like I did last year, I still plan on supporting nursing moms and continuing on the path to IBCLC. I think it’s possible to have breastfeeding resolutions without actually breastfeeding 🙂

2012 was a great year. I started working towards being an IBCLC and obtained my CLEC. I also started to help co-lead a local breastfeeding group and got more involved in my local breastfeeding community by joining the area breastfeeding coalition. I started teaching breastfeeding classes. I guest blogged over at MasalaMommas. I got a much-needed promotion at work. I found some sort of balance between work and motherhood. I breastfed E until 21 months. I got more comfortable in my own skin. I was a good friend, good wife, and the best mom I could possibly be.

    2013 Resolutions

  • Continue on the path towards IBCLC. In 2013, I want to complete the general education criteria as required by IBLCE. I only have a handful of classes left. It will be challenging – I’m not sure how much time I’ll have left between work, motherhood, and other commitments. I know I want to do it. I will make it happen.
  • Be here now. I need to make it a priority to disconnect with the outside world. I find myself spending too much time on Facebook or Twitter, always with the phone or laptop nearby. I feel as if I’m missing out on time spent with my family. I plan on giving myself only an hour or two a night to get online.
  • Cook. I’m a bad Indian girl: I don’t cook. D does the cooking in our house. He’s starting grad school, so this responsibility will fall on me. By the end of this year, I will have 1 signature dish. It doesn’t have to be fancy, just something that is delicious!
  • Learn to walk gracefully in high heels. This is a carry over from last year. I can walk in heels but not very well, and not higher than 3 inches. I don’t want to clomp, I want to strut.
  • Run another 5K. I ran a fun 5K earlier this year. It was my first one and of course I rolled my ankle. Stupid uneven pavement. I’d like to train for and run another.

That’s 5 resolutions. These seem way more doable than last year’s dozen. What are your resolutions for 2013?

document.write(”);

11 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

  1. Great job working towards becoming an LC, I'm on my road there as well (pathway 3). Found you on the Blog Hop. Nice page, I'll definitely have to remember to come back and read more. I'm always interested in seeing what fellow IBCLC students are up to 🙂

    Like

  2. Great resolutions!! One of my 30 before 30 goals is to run a 5K-which means it needs to be done no later than January 7, 2014. Hope cooking goes well for you and that you're able to finish the courses.

    Like

  3. It's such a time vacuum when you're using some of those. I've often said to myself that I'll use Pinterest for 5 more minutes and lose a whole hour! Thanks for stopping by, Alicia.

    Like

  4. Hey! Thanks for stopping by. I'm on Pathway 2. I thought I was going to do Pathway 3 for a while, but Pathway 2 seems like a better fit. I still need 2 classes to fulfill the educational requirement. Since I work full time, it may take me a while, but I am determined to get there!

    Like

  5. The 5K was so much fun! I ended up rolling my ankle, which put me out of commission for some time but now I'm ready to start back up. And it looks like tomorrow is your birthday. Happy birthday!

    Like

  6. Shannon, you are so right! Blogs to write, FB pages to update, tweets to write… seems never ending sometimes. I definitely need to unplug this year.

    Like

  7. Love these goals! I'm having to learn to cook too, but my husband still likes to take over the kitchen at times. 😉 And I'm also trying to find a balance between online and real life (which is why this comment is coming on a Tuesday instead of last Friday or Saturday!) Thanks for linking up with us this week. 🙂 ~Jeniffer

    Like

Leave a Reply

