Recurring Thoughts from the Last 4+ Months…

Well, I’m finally a few weeks into my second trimester. The first one was really rough. Lots of nausea, vomiting, and food aversion. None of the holistic stuff was cutting it. I finally broke down and asked for a prescription to Zofran. It was a life changer, but caused my digestive tract to come to a screeching halt. Thankfully I found a way to take it while still keeping things going and things got easier. My energy level is still pretty low compared to my pregnancy with E, but I’m now having to chase a toddler around after a day at work. I don’t have the luxury of laying around like I did before we had him.

I am definitely having a harder time connecting with this pregnancy. Most days I forget I’m pregnant, unless I get up to quick or feel nauseous. The baby is moving around some, but it’s not feeling very strong yet. Perhaps I have more fluff this time around and am not as receptive to the movement. I feel pretty guilty for not having the same connection this time around, but after talking to other friends, it’s not a strange way to feel. I don’t think these emotions are tied to the loss earlier this year. I have started a prenatal yoga class, but it seems to be more of a workout than a way to connect with your baby. I wish my old instructor was still teaching!

I haven’t even started processing my feelings on having to split my attention between E and the new baby. Oy. That’s going to be fun.

How did you connect with your pregnancy? Did you have similar feelings when you were pregnant with subsequent children? Feedback is appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Recurring Thoughts from the Last 4+ Months…

  1. I feel like you just wrote about my second pregnancy!!!! I was so disconnected to the baby, that a lot of the time (unless I was miserable) I just kind of tuned it out. Then I felt guilty for doing so and was emotionally miserable. My pregnancy with my daughter I had been so in tune with her, so elated to feel her, see her, ect. Not so with my son, I knew I loved him, but I wasn't feeling it. Thankfully the moment I saw his face I fell completely and totally in love. I had been so worried I wouldn't have room in my heart to love another child – how could I when my heart was so full of Em? But you do, it's an amazing thing. My little man has completely stolen my heart and I ADORE him. Our time nursing is just as special or more so than it was with my daughter (probably because I had a hysterectomy so he is my last baby to nurse). I don't know that I ever really did connect with the pregnancy totally, fixing up his room helped a LOT but not totally. But I can say that once you have your LO it will all click 🙂 Just enjoy your time with E now because that dynamic will change soon. Thankfully for me, my dd loves her brother. So while our dynamic changed…its still really good!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your experience! It's so nice to know that what I'm feeling isn't outside of the realm of normal. I'm really looking forward to breastfeeding this baby. I just need to take all of this one day at a time!! Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

