Benefits of Bed Rest The Doctor Didn’t Mention

Bed rest has not been easy. To go from normal life to laying down all the time literally overnight (I was sending emails and making calls from the hospital!) has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do in my life. I’ve learned that I like to be in control, so letting go has been quite tough. As my weeks of strict bed rest start to wind down, there are some perks to laying down all day that I will miss.

This counts as strict bed rest. I was laying down!
  1. You have a great excuse about why you can’t do anything. This one’s pretty obvious. Is there a household chore you hate doing? A social event you really want to avoid? “Sorry, I can’t. I’m on strict bed rest.” It has been a get out of jail free card of sorts. But then again, I’ve missed (and will be missing) some great events…
  2. Great excuse to grow your hair out. My hair has gotten long. It’s well past the middle of my back when it’s wavy and even longer when it is straight. It’s Kardashian long, but real. This is what happens when you’ve got pregnancy hormones flowing and cannot leave the house to get a trim. I know most of my luscious locks will be history post partum when the shedding begins, but I will certainly enjoy them now!
  3. Bye bye hot tools. This kind of goes with the above. I have blow dried & straightened my hair once in the 10+ weeks I’ve been on bed rest. Once in over 10 weeks is some kind of a new record for me, especially considering that I would straighten at least once a week previously. I bet it is contributing to my hair length as well. I’ve also learned how to embrace the wave: how much of what product to put in, how to keep it looking great on the second day after washing it, etc.
  4. You learn who is there for you when you’re in a bind. I have to say that this bed rest has really shown me who I can lean on when times get rough, and the answers have been eye opening. I have barely heard from some friends in 10 weeks, while others have really stepped up to be there for my family and I. Whether it’s bringing us a meal, coming over with food to spend their lunch break with me just because, or even a text every few days to see how I am doing, I’m very thankful for those this experience has brought forward. Sure, I get that everyone’s busy with their own lives and family, but how long does it take to send a text message when you’re updating your FB? It was quite a rude awakening for me at first and I’m certain I’m still bitter about it, but I’m glad it has happened.
  5. You can get lots of reading done. From old issues of Mothering magazine to books on breastfeeding, I’ve done quite a bit of reading lately. In fact, it is the most reading that I’ve done in years. I think it is the third most amount of reading I’ve done (1 is college, 2 is reading while pumping at work). I know I won’t the opportunity to do this much uninterrupted reading again for a long, long time, and I’ve certainly enjoyed it.
  6. Naps. I took three naps yesterday because I could. Three naps. Just because I was tired and wanted to close my eyes. Pregnancy has made me exhausted. Pregnancy insomnia makes it even worse. I’m glad I can sleep as needed. I am definitely enjoying it now. I know I won’t be doing this after the baby is born!
Leave a Reply

